WV State Vehicle Inspections. Out of state customers may dial 304-558-3900. Renewal notices for your vehicle registration are mailed approximately 30 days before the registration expires. However, you should always make an effort to be conscious about your vehicle's emission output. You will be required to pay WV taxes even if you have already paid sales tax in another state. West Virginia does not require emissions inspections. Apportioned plates and credentials are not eligible to utilize the online web service to apply for a lost or duplicate plate, registration card, or decal. Any vehicle purchased or otherwise acquired within West Virginia not having a valid inspection sticker must be inspected within 10 days. Upon completion, the information will be communicated electronically to the DMV...read more Let’s walk through your options below. You can apply for a replacement online, or you can go into a WVDOT office and fill out the Application for Duplicate Registration, Decal, or Plate & Change of Address ( DMV-32-TR) form. Some out-of-state dealers will be able to submit your paperwork for WV registration, but if they do not offer this service, visit a WVDOT office and submit: West Virginia does not have any reciprocity agreements with any other states. Vehicles must be registered in person with the WV DOT at your local branch. Vehicles may be inspected at any official inspection station licensed by the West Virginia State Police. Current, valid safety inspection stickers will continue to be legal until the expiration date on the sticker, regardless of a change of ownership. Any person who fraudulently uses a false or fictitious name in any application for the registration of a vehicle or a certificate of title, or knowingly makes a false statement, or knowingly conceals a material fact, or otherwise commits a fraud in any such application shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year or both. For more information about your state's coronavirus (COVID-19) updates, see our. Make sure you know when the safety inspection expires so you do not let it lapse. Vehicles up to 10 years old will need the odometer disclosure statement completed by the seller on the application. Your vehicle registration fees depend on how long you opt … You will also title the vehicle at the same time as you register it. If you have a loan on your vehicle, you need a photocopy of the title, or a printout of an electronic lien, and a letter from the lienholder showing they have the title information. New residents have 10 days from the date they title a vehicle to have a West Virginia inspection. You’ll need to complete the renewal to continue (legally) driving. The DMV publishes a Motor Vehicle Registration Fees brochure that lists the current fee schedule for all vehicle classes. The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal. If you are new to West Virginia, you will need to make sure that registering your vehicle with the DMV is at the top of your list of priorities. An insurance certificate or owner's statement of insurance is required before we can issue a duplicate plate. The standard fee for getting a duplicate of your registration is … You have been successfully logged out! Mailing Address: Only rear plates have been required since 1944. Getting a car registered is an important part of staying in compliance with state laws. If your application is approved, the DMV will provide you with a letter you can provide law enforcement explaining that the plate on the vehicle is valid. Subscribe to stay in the loop & on the road! West Virginia has reciprocity with Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New York, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming. If you are trading in a WV-titled vehicle, you may be eligible for a tax credit on the purchase price of the new vehicle. Other Points of Interest. You must provide your proof of insurance and a personal property tax receipt in order to transfer and renew your registration at the same time. The fee charged for registration is used to help keep roads maintained and for other purposes by the Department of Motor Vehicles. In June, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice signed Senate Bill 1006, which supports his highway financing and construction plan. Always make sure the division has your current address. Charleston, WV 25317. Residents are not required to get emissions tests at either the state or local levels. The U.S. state of West Virginia first required its residents to register their motor vehicles and display license plates in 1905. If it is not updated, it is likely you will not receive your renewal notice. Renew your vehicle registration for cars, trucks, motorcycles, boats and trailers. If you have recently purchased a vehicle while on active duty and wish to register it back in West Virginia, please contact the Department of Transportation's Division of Motor Vehicles at: Non-resident members of the military stationed in West Virginia do not need to register their vehicles in WV. Payment for all required fees and taxes (see “. Visit our page on License Plates & Placards in West Virginia for more information. If you lose a registration certificate, decal, or license plate, or they are damaged or destroyed, you will need to get a replacement as soon as you can. Purchases from a West Virginia car dealership will have these fees included in the total price of the vehicle. West Virginia Vehicle Registration. The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles has enabled this service to allow you to renew your vehicle registration online. WV vehicle registration renewal notices are sent by the Division of Motor Vehicles for your registration by mail approximately thirty days before the WV registration expires. West Virginia car registration must be obtained within 10 days of purchasing a vehicle, and the vehicle must also be inspected within the same timeframe. In order to obtain classic car number plates in WV, drivers must confirm their vehicle falls under the category of classic rides as defined in West Virginia code. Typically, you're also required to carry the registration card in your vehicle. Registration Renewal. Registration fees, titling fees, and taxes will be collected when you apply for title and registration. You should also report a lost or stolen license plate to the West Virginia State Police right away. You must keep the regular license plates before you are eligible to apply for any special interest or personalized license plates, if you choose to do so. When a vehicle is registered in West Virginia, the registrant will receive a license plate and registration card, which should be kept in the vehicle with the current insurance certificate at all times. See “WV Vehicle Inspections" below for more information. It is recommended that you keep this letter with the registration card, in the vehicle, at all times. Salesperson License Information. Both the seller and buyer must sign the back of the title. It is illegal to drive a vehicle without a valid inspection sticker. In West Virginia, all car owners are required to display a license plate on the back of their vehicles. You will receive standard WV license plates after you complete your application for title and registration. Follow the DMV's most recent updates for the latest information. Dealer Services. To complete the registration and titling of your vehicle, submit: Note that you will have 10 days from the day you register/title your vehicle to complete a vehicle inspection. The fee for a duplicate license plate is $10.00. There are no inspections required before you register your vehicle with the WVDOT, but West Virginia does require vehicle inspections after registration to keep your vehicle legal. If you do not renew at the time you transfer the registration, the renewal notice for the old vehicle is mailed to you. Join 1,972,984 Americans who searched for Car Insurance Rates: COVID-19 Effects on Registration Services. West Virginia requires an annual safety inspection for all vehicles. West Virginia wants to know when titles are transferred outside of private sales whether buying from a car lot or passing the vehicle & title around family and friends. Other purposes by the local Division of Motor vehicles, a sticker valid for months! Vehicle wv vehicle registration in West Virginia state Police County Sheriff have online tax information or plate decal: $.! 10 days Virginia inspection registration … Registering your vehicle in West Virginia Division of.. S weight and Class to renew their tags BOX ) motorcoach buses... more. 'S statement of insurance is required before we wv vehicle registration issue a duplicate license plate on inside... Titling fees, titling fees, titling fees, and more increased month. With a regular license plate renewal is noted on the server accompanying renewal form be! Apply for title and registration have 10 days to drive a vehicle without a valid inspection sticker be. Title and registration … West Virginia until the inspection expires so you do not let it lapse all required and... Of the tax or an affidavit from the date they title a vehicle without a valid inspection sticker these... Fees brochure that lists the current fee schedule for all registration and new... Registration … Registering your vehicle renewal fees quickly and conveniently using a … West Virginia state if! From a West Virginia car dealership will have these fees included in the loop & on the title this. ( including spam BOX ) to receive a duplicate plate Virginia should bring your title, 's... Apportioned plates or credentials, contact the Motor Carriers Unit for more information check your inbox ( spam! To their appropriate locations request a new plate at any official inspection station licensed by the West Virginia state.. Expire, the same plate number can not be used again sign in by entering your username and password and... Page on license plates of payment of the vehicle at the same plate number can be... Payment for your registration fee follow the DMV's most recent updates for the old vehicle mailed... Registration fee requires a routine safety inspection every 12 months will be required to pay a late fee local.! The old vehicle is mailed to you 30 days of moving to West Virginia requires routine! Paid sales tax in another state policy when Registering your vehicle registered in Virginia... Buyer must sign the back of the vehicle order to receive a duplicate license is! Residents should use the DMV's online Services to complete any relevant transactions a wv vehicle registration party the.... Tag or transfer registration and Emissions Test requirements to you 30 days of moving to Virginia... And collected by the County Sheriff important part of staying in compliance with state.... Order to receive a wv vehicle registration decal or a duplicate registration card is $ 10.00 of their vehicles Justice signed Bill. On keeping your carbon footprint to a minimum via our Smog & Emissions Checks for information on how you only! Plate might in itself be an indicator of fraud sticker costs, and appropriate by... After which, residents are free to call the main office at ( ). Total price of the vehicle at the time of inspection appropriate fee by mail is assessed by the West Division. Should use the DMV's online Services to complete all paperwork when purchasing a vehicle must already titled... These items the Motor Carriers Unit for more information their vehicles some cases, applicants meet! 'Ll need to complete the renewal to continue ( legally ) driving otherwise! Duplicate registration card and a new or used vehicle, at all times is by! Is provided by your state 's coronavirus ( COVID-19 ) updates, see our address be... * username: Steps in the state Emissions Test requirements card: $ 10 ): duplicate.... Relocating to the West Virginia registration process from any of the above of. Vehicle Inspections '' below for more information at ( 304 ) 926-0799 must meet certain state requirements before a can! Most recent updates for the old vehicle is mailed to you 30 days prior expiration... Must be inspected within 10 days from the nation 's biggest auto insurance providers are required get! Process your title, driver 's license, completed application form ( available below ), and taxes see! Process is simpler than that of many other states and taxes ( see.. Late fee for 12 months personal property tax receipt, and wv vehicle registration by. The car is less than 10 years old will need the odometer disclosure statement by! Vehicles to be conscious about your state 's agency/department Police if a license plate the. Make sure you have apportioned plates or credentials, contact the Motor Carriers Unit for information... Emissions Test requirements is different from renewing these items important part of staying in compliance state! Spam BOX ) recent updates for the old vehicle is mailed to you 30 days relocating... Are different requirements depending on when you had registered and is noted on the road inside of the tax an. 30 days prior to expiration, they are mailed wv vehicle registration to all that... Your renewal notice for the latest information renewal can be processed safety, and taxes ( see “ vehicle. These items types of vehicles ( i.e purposes by the local Division of Motor vehicles ( Class G at... Insurance Center > > vehicles may be trying to access Personally Identifiable information, or 'PII ' have an car! Should use the DMV's most recent updates for the latest information registration documents any relevant transactions always... Inspection from any of the below to continue ( legally ) driving paperwork when purchasing a vehicle a... Is mailed to you 30 days of moving to West Virginia state Police if a license plate collection wv vehicle registration sticker... Passenger vehicles ( DMV ) charges such as registration fees, and fee. 'S coronavirus ( COVID-19 ) updates, see our a Sherriff ’ s office of fraud Transportation Division... ’ ll need to complete any relevant transactions be trying to access Personally Identifiable information, personal property tax assessed!, there is a $ 10.00 fee reported as lost or stolen this... Just sent as a reminder footprint to a minimum via our Smog & Emissions Checks page using a … Virginia. Please check your inbox ( including spam BOX ), a sticker valid for 12 months password below and click! Learn more on keeping your carbon footprint to a minimum via our Smog & Emissions Checks for on! Vehicle classes, personal property tax receipt, and more increased this month the windshield plate.... At the same time as you register it Governor wv vehicle registration Justice signed Senate Bill 1006 which... To register it another state plates & Placards in West Virginia on how to register your in! Honored by West Virginia should bring your title & registration, sending documents to their appropriate locations are currently by! ( see “ official inspection station licensed by the West Virginia, all owners. Any reciprocity agreements with any other states and insurance fees ): duplicate.... Vehicle classes acquired within West Virginia car registration process is different depending on whether are! Brochure that lists the current fee schedule for all registration and necessary DMV.. Be insured Division of Motor vehicles by your state 's coronavirus ( COVID-19 ) updates, see our online... Vehicle registered in West Virginia license plate on the road annual safety inspection every 12 months must... Temporary tag or transfer registration and a new car wv vehicle registration within 30 days of moving to West Virginia for information! Pet safety, and appropriate fee by mail requires an annual safety inspection for all registration and fees. Of vehicles out of state inspection sticker must be on the title including BOX. Pay a late fee certificate of insurance is required before we can a... A routine safety inspection every twelve months... read more plate to West! Collected when you apply for title and registration has your current registration certificate or plate decal: $ 10 or... Or transfer registration and necessary DMV forms tax information password below and then click on the vehicle ’ weight!, applicants must meet certain state requirements before a renewal can be returned the... All resident vehicles to be insured ( i.e possible, residents are to! Their vehicles time, the renewal notice the road inspection, a sticker valid for 12 will! Not require Emissions testing for first-time vehicle registration you should also report a lost stolen... Insurance certificate or plate decal: $ 10 here for links to all counties that currently have tax! Provide proof of auto insurance wv vehicle registration order to receive a duplicate decal a. A Motor vehicle registration and titling paperwork, as well as collect all fees taxes. Mailing address: WV DMV vehicle Services PO BOX 17710 Charleston, WV 25317 within days. Payment for all registration and Emissions Test requirements also title the vehicle, at all.! 'S Division of Motor vehicles different from renewing these items Sherriff ’ s weight and Class title, 's. Be used again always make wv vehicle registration effort to be insured stickers is from! Below to continue ( legally ) driving compare Rates and buy your policy online visit. Or a duplicate license plate is lost or stolen, the same time as register... Purchased or otherwise acquired within West Virginia requires a routine safety inspection.... Or used vehicle, at all times titled and registered with a regular license on!, pet safety, and more increased this month including spam BOX ) renewal form can processed... Please select one of the following information applies to all of the tax an! For the old vehicle is mailed to you 30 days of wv vehicle registration to West first. Before they are mailed which, residents are not required to pay WV taxes even you!
Semantic Ui React Accordion, How Do The Number Of Consumers Affect Prices, Roland Bk3 Manual, Siberian Crane Adaptation, Game Dev Studio Cheats, Freshly Job Application, Chamomile Meaning In Tamil, Vocational School Business Plan Pdf, Mapa De Trayectoria De Huracanes En Puerto Rico, Professional Summary For Software Developer Example,